Annie Murray, author

View options:
[0] [+] [++]


This page will tell you about all of my titles.

So many people contact me to ask about the order in which they should read my books that I have added a reading guide as to which books stand alone (most of them in fact) and which are part of a pair or trilogy. I hope that helps.


War Babies

War Babies

She’ll have to fight to keep her family together…

Rachel Booker has had a difficult start in life. When her father dies, deep in gambling debt, it’s up to her mother to make ends meet. Hardened by the daily struggle, she has little time left for affection or warmth. Mother and daughter work together at the Rag Market in Birmingham, selling second-hand clothes to put food on the table.

There is a silver lining as Rachel makes her first childhood friend, Danny, at the market. As they grow older, friendship blossoms into something more, and their innocent romance gives Rachel the love she’s always craved. But at the tender age of sixteen, with the war already on, Rachel falls pregnant. The young couple marry in haste but it isn’t long before Danny is called up.

Left on the home front with a new baby and little else, Rachel must scrape by with the other residents of Aston. But if Danny ever makes it back, will he be the same boy she loved so fiercely? And if Rachel can sustain the family until then, will she end up as hard-hearted as her own mother?

Buy the book


Meet Me Under the Clock

Meet Me Under the Clock

Growing up in Birmingham, sisters Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiancé Ian, while Audrey jumps at the opportunities offered by the WAAF.

Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far one night, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian’s dismay. He thinks her job isn’t very feminine – unlike Sylvia’s new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty’s innocent nature hides a dark secret…

Find out more | Buy the book


My Daughter, My Mother

My Daughter, My Mother

In 1984 two young mothers meet at a toddler group in Birmingham. As their friendship grows, they share with each other the difficulties and secrets in their lives: Joanne, a sweet, shy girl, is increasingly afraid of her husband. The lively, promising man she married has become hostile and violent and she is too ashamed to tell anyone. When her mother, Margaret is suddenly rushed into hospital, the bewildered family find that there are things about their mother of which they had no idea. Margaret was evacuated from Birmingham as a child and has spent years avoiding the pain of her childhood – but finds that you can’t run from the past forever. …

Find out more | Read an extract | Buy the book



Her Majesty

Going the Distance


In Her Majesty: 21 stories by women, edited by Jackie Gay and Emma Hargrave

'The Tonsil Machine'

In Going the Distance, edited by Alan Beard

Find out more

website design © | ashbydesign |